Eloping, Still Joking..Right?

I’m on a post a day until Sunday to make the final blog post requirement for this assignment, so you all will be subjected to whatever random loosely related topics I can come up with until then! This one I owe to my fiancé though, my creative juices were running dry for the evening after a long day at work, and hey, it’s my blog, so why not! We’ve talked about it enough, so why not mention eloping here!

We haven’t been able to track down the very first time we joked about eloping, although we know it certainly was very early in our relationship. I can’t quite place if it was joked about in person or over a text message, the latter being the a pretty likely place if any as that was an easy form of communication between countries. Court sifted through a good number of our messages to try and find where it all started(there’s a lot to go through), she found some good stuff we could think back on and laugh about in the process.

Looking back that far it feels like it was so long ago, because we hardly knew each other at the time. Now I feel like there hasn’t been a time where I haven’t known Courtney, and I can’t imagine any version of my life where she isn’t woven through every fibre. It probably feels like such a far away place because we have gone leaps and bounds as far as relationships go, you know, getting engaged to be married and all. In most cultures, that’s what the call a “big deal”.

The jokes about eloping really started the idea roaming around in my head. At first I think it was an innocent joke, but with a closer look, I’m starting to think it was my subconscious doing some probing before I even knew that that was what I wanted! The frequency of the joke started to increase as time went on, even throwing it at both sets of parents to try and get a rise out of them, and maybe even preparing them for when we got really serious and talked about getting married.

With the introduction of engagement and wedding planning, eloping has seemed like a very real possibility! Just when we think we can’t do it, (not just the planning part) when we can’t stand to be apart any longer, eloping seems like a very rational idea. I told Courtney tonight that with just being paid today, I thought I could get us each a one way ticket to Thailand for our elopement, and we would be stuck there until I could scrounge up enough money to make our way back! That would allow enough time to pass for our families to cool off a bit, hah!

We’ve done the whole 8 months of our relationship long distance in one form or another, so to quit now would be pretty impressive. We won’t do that though, we are going to stick it out, we can definitely make it to our special day. All the planning and waiting will be well worth the wait, but that certainly won’t stop us from joking about eloping just like we did about getting married, they just go hand in hand. Being that this is a wedding planning blog, it would be an interesting turn of events if we really did elope, but don’t worry, we won’t do it! (at least today…)

Leave a Reply

