Day Dates…The Express Lane to the Friend Zone!

IMG_9750If any of you have seen the movie “Just Friends” you’ll understand the inspiration for the title of this post. It’s one of my favourite movies, not just because I felt I was a consistent resident of the “friend zone”, but just because I think it’s funny! Having Courtney back for a visit has been AMAZING, each moment we get to spend together is just a blissful euphoria where all the worlds problems have no hold on us. It’s nice to actually date your fiancé a little bit once in a while as well. Our day date of choice yesterday, slack lining!

I have a new perspective on day dates since finding my soulmate, they really are the express lane to the friend zone, and from what I understand from all the sage advice I’ve received from older successful married couples, that’s exactly what you want.  I don’t know if it’s the fresh air, the opportunity to do active things together, but something about day dates really brings you closer together and somehow it’s a little different from an evening date.

Amidst the duties of visualizing the yard for the reception and asking for assistance at Staples to print inserts for invitations(which was fairly useless), we needed a break from planning, and needed a date! Courtney looked over at me and expressed that we needed to go and do something fun, of course I was all for an interlude from the world of wedding planning.

We had gone slack lining the first weekend we had met, and once when we first started dating, so this was a fun little flashback date! We went to a local park, found a spot that didn’t have too much in the way of foot traffic, and strung up a couple trees to have some fun.  Courtney keeps saying that she isn’t any good but she really does have a knack for it! She made it a whole four steps, with some pretty long pauses balancing in between. Anyone who has slack lined some knows those first three or four steps mean you pretty much have it, it’s just a mental game after that! It was a bit chilly, but we still had fun and boy is she cute when she’s determined to get something down! I’m betting she will be a pro in no time at all!

I really shouldn’t be amazed at how much more I love her after spending time with her, but just when I think I can’t love her more, it happens again! It was a fun little day date that just added to the already high flying balloon in my chest that accompanies all these loving feelings and such, this has been a wonderful visit so far and I can’t wait until it’s permanent! If you are looking for a fun way to get to know a potential soul mate, go on a day date, you may end up in the friend zone, and that’s a good thing!

Leave a Reply

