Who Says Traditional is Bad?

Yet again I will be deviating from my course of wedding planning, so I shall officially say that this blog will forever have some of my thoughts on loosely related topics and that’s the way it’s going to stay!  My intro to anthropology class has been causing the old wheels up there to turn some, and I figured I could sort out some of my thoughts here.   The topic of discussion this past week has touched on some very volatile subjects over the course of a couple weeks.  Marriage, family, gender, sexuality, all the fun stuff!  The roles of men and women vary across all cultures, but I feel some things are just meant to be by divine design, or by chance if that’s where your beliefs lie.

One of the ways of thinking that we were what felt like forbidden to ever fall into was an ethnocentric point of view when observing and evaluating other cultures.  This was a new word for me, and as far as I understood it it follows that we shouldn’t view other cultures through what is acceptable in ours, or to have as unbiased observations as possible.  With this in mind, I felt my professor may have been falling into that same trap, although in her defence, it was across time and not cultures.

We talked about the changing roles of men and women over time, in particular the advertising targeted at children.  Usually boys commercials are full of guns, swords, building and destroying things, whereas girls are stuck with barbies and Easy-Bake ovens.  While I am the first to admit that women are the definitely more talented and capable gender in whatever they choose to do, I may be a little of a traditionalist when it comes to my thoughts on what I would like for my future family.

Although most homes have to have two incomes coming in now to keep up with our lifestyles, I would like to try my hardest to be able to provide for my family so that my wife will be able to devote as much time and attention to our minions(its a term of endearment for our future children) as possible.  The current train of thought that women can do anything they want, I 100% agree with!  But will I be in deep politically incorrect trouble for thinking that maybe men and women are perhaps naturally better at some things than the other?  Would I be safe to say that maybe the mother that carried the child for 9 months and went through the effort of giving birth(for which I can never thank my dear mother enough for, 29 hours is a lifetime of mom and son dates to pay back!) might be a little more invested than a man?  Would I be wrong to think that perhaps the women who choose to be mothers are naturally more caring, nurturing, and perfectly selfless for giving themselves completely to the most important task of raising the future generation?

Call me old fashioned, but I think we shouldn’t ignore that natural abilities and talents that each gender has been given.  Who’s to say the blurring of lines between gender roles is necessarily a good thing, and who’s to say that the way families used to be organized was a bad thing?  I’m not talking about the extremes where men rule all powerful and women are belittled and abused, I’m talking about the times when a husband and wife work together, using each others natural strengths to make up for one another’s weaknesses.  The “old fashioned” ways produced a stabile and productive families, which are rapidly diminishing in the current trend of making careers first, and families second, third, or when it’s convenient.  What’s changed since the old days?  Maybe society has.  Part of what I want in my future marriage is the adding of two people together to create something greater than either one of us could have completed on our own.

Leave a Reply

